Skip to content

BFL legal meatballs

March 28, 2012

Please excuse the horrible camera phone picture, I was at work…

These meat balls were eaten for one meal yesterday, and one meal today and there’s one meals worth in the freezer (for both C and I). They were yummy and filling.

This recipe is what I did last night while making meatballs, but normally I would have added a veggie to the mix (usually grated carrot, zucchini or mushroom). (These quantities are estimations, because I just chuck the stuff in a bowl and mix….woops)

1kg extra lean beef mince
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 onion very finely diced
1.5 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1(ish) tsp low sodium soy sauce
1 tsp dried basil (only green herb I had)
40g raw rolled oats (couldn’t find the oat bran)
Dash of chill oil

Mix all ingredients well in a bowl. Place enough mince in your hand to cover you palm and form a layer as thick as a deck of cards. (Luckily my hands are almost exactly the same size as C’s so all our meat balls are the same size…). At this point I divide the meat in my hand in half and form into 2 meatballs.
Spray a baking tray with cooking spray and place the meatballs on it.
Bake for at least 30minutes in a 180 deg C oven. Meatballs should be slightly browned and cooked all the way through.

If you make more meatballs than you can eat, and you want to save some for another day/week, meatballs freeze really well for up to 3 months. You can either bake the meatballs and then freeze them or freeze them raw and bake from frozen later (but remember, froze meatballs will take longer to bake). If I bake from frozen, I put the meat in the oven as it warms up, so that it thaws somewhat.

From → BFL 1, recipe

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

